9.4 C
New York
Wednesday, July 28, 2021
HomeNewsIndiaAssembly election 2021 results: TMC retains West Bengal, LDF makes comeback, DMK...

Assembly election 2021 results: TMC retains West Bengal, LDF makes comeback, DMK wins Tamil Nadu, Lotus blooms in Assam and Puducherry

New Delhi: The official results for the high-stakes assembly elections held in four states and one Union Territory are almost complete, and with the exception of West Bengal, exit poll predictions remained relatively close to the actual results and trends in Assam, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, and Puducherry.

According to the trends and results posted on the Election Commission of India’s website on Monday (May 3, 2021) morning, the Mamata Banerjee-led Trinamool Congress (TMC) has retained power in West Bengal for the third time in a row, while the Left Democratic Front (LDF) led by Pinarayi Vijayan has won the first re-election in 44 years. MK Stalin’s Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) dethroned incumbent Edappadi K Palaniswami’s All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) in Tamil Nadu, while the Bharatiya Janata Party-led alliances (BJP) won in Assam and Puducherry.

West Bengal is once again held by the TMC.

West Bengal was regarded as the most important battleground, with exit polls predicting a close fight between the ruling Trinamool Congress and the Bharatiya Janata Party. However, Mamata Banerjee’s ‘Khela Hobe’ campaign in the Kerala Assembly election 2021 demonstrated why she is one of the most tenacious fighters. According to current trends and results, the Trinamool Congress won significantly more seats than the halfway point. They have won 209 seats and currently hold the lead in four of the 292 assembly constituencies. The Bharatiya Janata Party, which did extensive campaigning in anticipation of its overwhelming victory in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, was unable to break into the double digits. The saffron party won 76 seats and currently holds the lead in one.

LDF makes an incredible comeback

By winning the Kerala Assembly election in 2021, Pinarayi Vijayan’s Left Democratic Front has written history. The LDF broke Kerala’s record of voting out every incumbent government for the previous four decades by winning re-election for the first time in over 44 years.

The LDF received 62 votes in the 140-member Assembly, the Communist Party of India-Marxist 17, the Kerala Congress-Mani five, the Janata Dal-Secular and the Nationalist Congress Party two each, and the Loktantrik Janata Dal, Indian National League, Congress-Secular, Revolutionary Socialist Party-L, and Kerala Congress-B one each.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments