9.4 C
New York
Wednesday, July 28, 2021
HomeNewsIndiaMamata Banerjee's oath-taking ceremony on May 5, CM to meet Bengal Governor...

Mamata Banerjee’s oath-taking ceremony on May 5, CM to meet Bengal Governor today

New Delhi: West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee will be sworn in on May 5, which is a Wednesday. On May 6, all members of the Council of Ministers will be sworn in by Protem Speaker Subrata Mukherjee. Later, Biman Banerjee will take over as Speaker.

Mamata Banerjee stated that she will meet Bengal Governor Jagdish Dhankar at 7 p.m. on Monday and that her party will make a decision on the oath-taking and Cabinet formation that evening. The Bengal Chief Minister addressed a press conference the day after the vote counting, demanding a forensic investigation into the Nandigram vote counting incident. Mamata accused the Election Commission of acting at the behest of the BJP and questioned why the poll panel did not grant permission for a vote recount in Nandigram.

Furthermore, Mamata claimed that the Returning Officer of Nandigram informed him that the recounting order could have put his life in jeopardy. The Trinamool Supremo asked her supporters to keep the peace amid reports of violence and accused the BJP of harassing her and her party even after the results were declared. She also stated that this was the first time the Prime Minister had not called her after she had won the Bengal assembly election.

With 213 seats, the Trinamool Congress wins the Bengal assembly elections.

According to the final results announced by the Election Commission, the Trinamool Congress romped home in West Bengal, winning 213 of the 292 assembly seats that went to polls and securing a third consecutive term in office. The BJP, the main challenger to Mamata Banerjee’s party, won 77 seats, while the ISF, which ran with the symbol of the Rashtriya Secular Majlis Party, and an Independent each got one. In 2016, the Trinamool Congress won 211 seats.

Elections were held in 292 of the assembly’s 294 constituencies. Polling was halted in two constituencies, Jangipur and Samsergan, after candidates became ill with the COVID-19 pandemic.

In Nandigram, however, the mercurial Banerjee was defeated by former protege-turned-BJP adversary Suvendu Adhikari by 1,956 votes.

Apart from Adhikari, TMC defections included Rajib Banerjee, Rudranil Ghosh, Baishali Dalmiya, Shilbhadra Dutta, and Sabyasachi Dutta.

Leading Left Front candidates Ashok Bhattacharya, Mohammed Salim, and Sujan Chakraborty, as well as Congress candidates Abdul Mannan and Manoj Chakraborty, were defeated.

In Bengal, the BJP fails to break into the double digits.

Although BJP MPs Jagannath Sarkar and Nishit Pramanik were elected from Shantipur and Dinhata, respectively, other senior party leaders such as Locket Chatterjee, Swapan Dasgupta, and Babul Supriyo were defeated.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments