9.4 C
New York
Wednesday, July 28, 2021
HomeNewsIndiaCoronavirus second wave: List of states where lockdown, curfews are imposed

Coronavirus second wave: List of states where lockdown, curfews are imposed

New Delhi: As a large portion of the country remains under strict curfew due to the raging COVID pandemic, several states and union territories, including Delhi, Haryana, and Uttar Pradesh, have extended their ongoing lockdown until May 17. Tamil Nadu, Puducherry, and Rajasthan will also have a two-week shutdown beginning May 10, while Karnataka will have stringent restrictions in place until May 24. Kerala was placed under a nine-day state of emergency on Saturday.

Here are some examples of coronavirus-related restrictions imposed by states and union territories:

Delhi has been under lockdown since April 19, and it has now been extended until May 17.

Uttar Pradesh has extended the duration of the corona curfew, which includes strict lockdown-like restrictions, until May 17.

Haryana, which had been under a seven-day lockdown since May 3, has extended it until May 17.

Bihar declared a state of emergency on May 4 and extended it until May 15.

From May 5 to May 19, Odisha is under a 14-day curfew.

Rajasthan has decided to impose a strict lockdown from May 10 to 24, despite the fact that curbs have been in place since last month.

The lockdown-like restrictions in Jharkhand have been extended until May 13. The restrictions were put in place for the first time on April 22 as part of ‘Health Safety Week.’

Chhattisgarh has declared a weekend lockdown, after previously allowing district collectors to extend local lockdowns until May 15.

Punjab has imposed severe restrictions, as well as measures such as a weekend lockdown and a night curfew until May 15.

Weekend lockdowns have also been imposed by the Chandigarh administration.

Madhya Pradesh has imposed a ‘Janta curfew’ until May 15, allowing only essential services.

Gujarat has imposed a night curfew (from 8 p.m. to 6 a.m.) as well as other daytime restrictions in 36 cities until May 12.

On April 5, Maharashtra imposed lockdown-like restrictions, as well as prohibitory orders and restrictions on people’s movement. Later, the curbs were extended until May 15. Local curfews have been imposed in districts such as Latur and Solapur, and curbs have been tightened in Amravati, Akola, and Yavatmal.

The state of Goa has imposed a curfew from May 9 to May 24. It lifted a four-day curfew on Monday, with the exception of tourist hotspots like Calangute and Candolim in North Goa, where restrictions remained in place.

West Bengal has imposed a slew of restrictions, including a ban on all types of gatherings, since last week.

Assam has reduced the night curfew from 8 p.m. to 6 p.m., with restrictions on public movement beginning on Wednesday. On April 27, a night curfew was imposed until May 7.

From April 30 to May 14, Nagaland has imposed a partial lockdown with stricter rules.

Mizoram’s government has declared a seven-day state of emergency from 4 a.m. on May 10 to 4 a.m. on May 17.

Starting Saturday, Arunachal Pradesh has imposed a night curfew from 6.30 p.m. to 5 a.m. for the entire month.

The government of Manipur has imposed a curfew in seven districts from May 8 to May 17.

Sikkim has imposed curfew-like restrictions until May 16.

The administration of Jammu and Kashmir has imposed lockdown-like restrictions until May 10.

Uttarakhand has declared a COVID curfew in effect from May 11 to May 18.

Himachal Pradesh has declared a state of emergency, or ‘corona curfew,’ from May 7 to May 16.

Kerala will be on lockdown from May 8 to May 16.

From May 10 to May 24, Tamil Nadu is in lockdown.

Puducherry has declared a state of emergency from May 10 to May 24.

It should be noted that Maharashtra, Karnataka, and Delhi are among the ten states that account for 71.75% of the 4,03,738 new COVID-19 cases registered in a day, according to the Union Health Ministry’s Sunday morning update. Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh, Andhra Pradesh, West Bengal, Rajasthan, and Haryana are the other states on the list of ten.

India’s total active caseload has risen to 37,36,648 and now accounts for 16.76% of all infections in the country.

According to the ministry, Maharashtra, Karnataka, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh, Rajasthan, Andhra Pradesh, Gujarat, Tamil Nadu, Chhattisgarh, West Bengal, Haryana, Bihar, and Madhya Pradesh account for 82.94 percent of India’s total active cases.
In addition, 4,092 deaths were reported in a 24-hour period. Ten states account for 74.93% of all new deaths. Maharashtra suffered the most casualties (864). Karnataka comes in second with 482 daily deaths.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments